Community News

Coding And Collaboration In Port Jefferson Schools

Pictured: Earl L. Vandermeulen High School students with high school teacher Winifred Kuemmel (left) and elementary STEM teacher Dr. Kathryn Zvokel.

Photo courtesy of the Port Jefferson School District

Students from Earl L. Vandermeulen High School’s newly inaugurated Computer Science Honor Society shared their skills recently with Edna Louise Spear Elementary School fourth graders.

High School students Kieran Casey, Kay Moran, Gavin Onghai, Ryan Perry, Andrew Schretzmayer, Nicholas Smirnov, Emily Snyder, Tucker Stanton, Liam Thomsen and Michelle Wu, along with teacher and Honor Society adviser Winifred Kuemmel, created their own hackathon from a competition.

During STEM class with Dr. Kathryn Zvokel, the younger students viewed high school student Tucker Stanton highlight the stories, games and animations as they programmed their own Scratch game or story with guidance from the other high school students.

The event was an opportunity to learn to develop new or different approaches to solving problems, developing solutions and completing projects that may require collaboration.

Related Posts