The New York State Office of Parks, Recreation, and Historic Preservation is pleased to announce tours of the newly restored William Nicoll Grist Mill, located in Connetquot River State Park Preserve, weekends and holidays from 1:00pm to 3:00pm, beginning Saturday, April 4, 2020 through Sunday, June 28, 2020.
Step back into the 1700’s as you visit the William Nicoll Grist Mill. Perched on the Main Pond, along the original South Country Road, the Mill’s unique horizontal tub wheels were used to mill local grains, corn and wheat. The newly restored Grist Mill will be open so visitors can experience life as seen through the early settlers. Docents will be available for each tour, which are free; however, the standard $8.00 vehicle use fee will be in effect.
This 3,473-acre nature preserve is the site of the former South Side Sportsmen’s Club (est. 1866). Connetquot River State Park Preserve was acquired by New York State Parks in 1963. It was declared the first State Park Preserve by the New York State Legislature on August 7,1978, ensuring the protection of this fragile natural environment for perpetuity. Connetquot is home to more than 40 endangered, threatened or rare species of plants and animals. A pristine jewel tucked within suburbia, the Preserve offers visitors an opportunity to experience the natural beauty of Long Island on over 20 miles of maintained trails.
Connetquot River State Park Preserve is located at 3525 Sunrise Highway in Oakdale. The entrance to the Preserve is located on the north side of Sunrise Highway, just west of Pond Road.
For more information, please contact Connetquot River State Park Preserve at (631) 581-1005.