Community News

Suffolk Legislature Honors National Champion Suffolk Women’s Cross Country Team

The National Championship Suffolk County Community College Women’s Cross Country team will be honored at the Suffolk County Legislature on Tuesday February 11, 2020. A presentation will be made to the team by the Suffolk County Legislature beginning at 9 a.m.

The team won its third national title led by Shoreham’s Alexandra Smith who claimed the individual title. Smith logged the third fastest time by a female individual champion in meet history and was named National Women’s Cross Country Athlete of the year (USTFCCCA NJCAA Division III), Suffolk’s first-ever in women’s cross country.

Head Coach Matt French took home top coaching honors as 2019 National Women’s XC Coach of the Year (USTFCCCA NJCAA Division III).

Stephanie Cardalena (Hicksville), Yasmeen Araujo (Deer Park), Allaura Dashnaw (Centereach), Alexandra Smith (Shoreham), Taylor McClay (Eastport), Nina Bonetti (Bayport), Ashley Czarnecki (Ronkonkoma), Jessica Hunsucker (Miller Place)

Related Posts