Community News

Inauguration of Town Officials

Councilwoman Lisa Inzerillo, Councilman Tom Lohmann, and Receiver of Taxes Deanna Varricchio Sworn In for a New Term 

Smithtown, NY:  Smithtown Town Officials were sworn into office during an inauguration ceremony, held at Town Hall on New Year’s Eve. Councilwoman Lisa Inzerillo, Councilman Tom Lohmann, and Receiver of Taxes Deanna Varricchio were joined by friends, family, town administration and supporters to witness the officials take the oath of office. The ceremony for all three officials was led by Smithtown native and decorated Vietnam Veteran Honorable Judge Jack Toomey in the Victor T. Liss Board Room at Smithtown Town Hall.

 “It’s a true testament to the perseverance of this team when you look around the room and see not only our family and friends, but the talented Smithtown directorate, support staff, and fellow elected leaders. All of whom are here with us today to witness, and celebrate this occasion. We do everything together, united to serve our community to the very best of our abilities. It’s an honor and a privilege to commemorate this day with you as we welcome the new decade, a new year filled with promise, and a successful four more years for our reelected colleagues.” – Supervisor Ed Wehrheim

The three incumbents each won their bid for re-election in November of 2019, to serve another four years in office. With their families by their side, the three incumbents recited an oath to faithfully execute their positions while upholding the Constitutions of the United States and the State of New York. Receiver of Taxes Deanna Varricchio was originally appointed to office in January of 2002. She has served as Smithtown’s Receiver of Taxes since she won her election in 2003. Councilwoman Lisa Inzerillo is serving her second term in office, originally elected in 2015. Councilman Tom Lohmann was appointed to office in January 2018, and won the election in November of 2018 to finish out the term of Supervisor Wehrheim’s town council seat. Lohmann was reelected in November 2019 to serve a full four year term. 

Related Posts