Community News

Wantagh Honors Newly Tenured Teachers

Pictured: The Wantagh Board of Education and central administration honored its newly tenured educators on May 4.

 Photo courtesy of the Wantagh School District

A dozen educators from the Wantagh School District received tenure at the May 4 board of education meeting, a testament to their hard work over the past four years as well as their bright futures.

At a tenure reception ceremony, the board of education and central administration recognized a total of 15 teachers, including three who received tenure earlier in the school year. Superintendent John McNamara said tenure is a hard-earned designation, and the result of many observations, evaluations and conferences during their probationary period.

“This is a special night for them,” Mr. McNamara said. “We don’t just want good teachers here in Wantagh, we want outstanding teachers.”

Mr. McNamara, Assistant Superintendent Stephen Moran, Executive Director for Curriculum and Instruction Carol-Ann Winans and Director of Human Resources Dr. Stephanie Scolieri said a few words about each of the tenure recipients. Common traits among the newly-tenured educators are their enthusiasm and the strong connections they make with students.

The district congratulates:

  • Ariel Adrian, reading teacher, Wantagh Middle School
  • Samantha Barrett, elementary teacher Wantagh Elementary School
  • Sameerah Cassidy, music teacher, Wantagh High School
  • Jeanhee Cho, reading teacher, Mandalay Elementary School
  • Laura Clarke, special education teacher, Mandalay Elementary School
  • Kara Desson, special education teacher, Wantagh Middle School
  • Lauren Furci, guidance counselor, Wantagh Elementary School
  • Justine Hernandez, world language teacher, Wantagh Middle School
  • Valerie Gompers, family and consumer sciences teacher, Wantagh High School and Middle School
  • Erin Joyce, elementary teacher, Mandalay Elementary School
  • Maria Maleganos, psychologist, Mandalay Elementary School
  • James Punzone, elementary teacher, Wantagh Elementary School
  • Kelsey Riegger, special education teacher, Mandalay Elementary School
  • Nicole Romagnuolo, elementary teacher, Mandalay Elementary School
  • Caitlin Wong, psychologist, Wantagh High School

Related Posts