Community News

Long Island High School For The Arts Students Accepted Into Top Honor Societies Across The Nation And Around The World

Nassau BOCES Long Island High School for the Arts (LIHSA) inducted 65 of its students from 26 school districts across the county into five distinguished national honor societies and one international honor society during a special ceremony earlier this spring.

For nearly a century, the International Thespian Society (ITS) has been honoring student achievement. The society’s four key principles are pride, affirmation, confidence and inspiration. As members, students receive national recognition, have access to a variety of resources, and are invited to participate in state and national events, workshops, and college and scholarship auditions. Among its legendary ranks are Kathy Bates, John Goodman, Tom Hanks, Goldie Hawn, Christina Hendricks, Barbara Hershey, Val Kilmer and Cloris Leachman, to name a few.

This year’s ITS inductees are: Joanna Scharen, from the Bethpage UFSD; Daniella Falco, from the Carle Place UFSD; Samantha Fiore, from the Cold Spring Harbor CSD; Joshua Amy, from the East Meadow UFSD; Cora Jones, from the Freeport UFSD; Elif Daspinar, Oliver Mauer and Huckleberry Milner, from the Half Hollow Hills CSD; Emma DiPrima, from the Harborfields CSD; Ilaria Davniero, Emily Kassimatis, Olivia DeMarco, Maya Morales and Emma Smith, all from the Levittown UFSD; Sara Nearenberg, from the Locust Valley CSD; Shay Brymer and Melinda DeSantis, from the Long Beach City SD; Lorenzo Hilliard and Jamielynn Korotki, from the Wantagh UFSD; and Talya Ewing, from the Westbury UFSD.

For nearly 50 years, the National Art Honor Society (NAHS) has recognized and celebrated students across the nation for their academic achievements and their outstanding talent in the visual arts. NAHS provides its members with invaluable benefits, such as peer recognition, leadership growth opportunities, and college and career preparation. NAHS believes that connecting and acknowledging outstanding visual arts students is more imperative than ever.

This year’s NAHS inductees are: Yianna Foufas, from the Bellmore-Merrick CHSD; Nicole Zawojski, from the Bethpage UFSD; Jennarose Maglione, from the Carle Place UFSD; Colter Bubbico, from the Locust Valley CSD; Tab Freeny, from the Long Beach City SD; Stella Rinaudo and Chie Zaidman, from the Massapequa UFSD; Sadie Koo, from the North Shore CSD; and Janice Lee, from the Syosset CSD.

The National Honor Society for Dance Arts (NHSDA) is part of the National Dance Education Organization. Its mission is to recognize outstanding artistic merit, leadership and academic achievement, and to foster an appreciation for dance as a true art form. Its membership is open to exceptional dance students from throughout the country.

This year’s NHSDA inductees are: Kira Martino, from the Bellmore-Merrick CHSD; Madelyn Resta, from the Bethpage UFSD; Alexa Mincone, from the East Meadow UFSD; Syvonna Rubin, from the Elwood UFSD; Lauren Gilbert, Grace Lavergne and Lena Umbrino, from the Kings Park CSD; Sophia Buffolino and Kyleigh Harrison, from the Levittown UFSD; Ava Lacalandra, from the Massapequa UFSD; Scarlett Depaul, from the Northport-East Northport UFSD; and Alessandra Hermes-Bevans, from the Wantagh UFSD.

The Tri-M Music Honor Society was founded more than 85 years ago by the National Association for Music Education and, to this day, remains the only national honor society for music students. Its mission is to create future leaders in music education and advocacy. Candidates must meet a rigorous set of eligibility requirements in several categories including leadership, service, character and academic achievement.

This year’s Tri-M inductees are: Paula Barrera, Oliver Mauer, and Huckleberry Milner, all from the Half Hollow Hills CSD; Matthew Scarlata, from the Garden City UFSD; and Raquel Sciacca, from the Smithtown CSD.

For 40 years, the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) has been recognizing outstanding student achievement in career and technical education. Today, the NTHS serves more than one million members in secondary and postsecondary chapters across the country, in fulfillment of its mission to support the next generation of skilled workers and leaders. The society is founded on four core objectives; career development, leadership development, service and recognition. This year, LIHSA students have been inducted into the NTHS in a number of different industry fields.

Inductees in Audio Production are: Leslie Chavez Pineda, from the Freeport UFSD; Dominic Accardo, from the Hicksville UFSD; Joseph Toscano, from the Levittown UFSD; Myla Sanchez, from the Long Beach City SD; Loughlin Reid-Cleary, from the Lynbrook UFSD; Lucy Immel, from the Wantagh UFSD; Jeremiah Rodriguez, from the Westbury UFSD.

Inductees in Computer Game Design are: Gianna Forte, from the Syosset CSD; Evan Yang, from the Herricks UFSD; Ryan Vicerra, from the Hicksville UFSD; and Marcelo Zuniga, from the Lynbrook UFSD.

Inductees in Multimedia Film and Television are: Arielle Ormeno, from the Glen Cove City SD; Kimberly Juarez and Ryan McKie, from the Hicksville UFSD; Aeres Moran, from the Levittown UFSD; and Peter Conlin, from the Wantagh UFSD.

The two Production and Managerial Arts inductees are Aidan Berrios from the Long Beach City SD, and Matteo Berry from the Mineola UFSD. The 3D Animation inductee is Madison Villalobos from the Massapequa UFSD.

LIHSA has been a powerhouse for the development of Long Island’s creative and cultural sector. Emerging artists get the opportunity to explore and refine their talents in a one-of-a-kind, master apprentice, arts-centered community. Nestled in Syosset, NY, students learn in a safe and supportive environment where they can pursue their artistic passion and discover who they are as individuals and as artists. On stage, in the studio, and in classrooms, students learn from a dedicated team of teachers, all of whom are accomplished artists and performers. Each program offers independent projects and field trips and brings world-class artists to the school to conduct master classes and residency programs. The school offers distinct pathways: Performing Arts, Visual and Digital Arts, Production and Managerial Arts, Scenic Construction and Production Technologies, Sonic Arts, Multimedia Journalism, Game Design, 3D Animation and Expressive Arts and Human Development. The school’s alumni are working all over the world on stage, on screen, behind the scenes, and leading major events and organizations.

To learn more about LIHSA visit, like us on Facebook and follow us on Instagram, lihsa_official.

Related Posts