Community News

Deer Park High School Honors 17 Outstanding “Champions”

Photos courtesy of Deer Park School District

The annual fall Breakfast for Champions returned to Deer Park High School’s library on Nov. 16, recognizing outstanding students for their achievements, hard work and determination to overcome obstacles in 17 different categories corresponding to school departments as well as principal’s and teacher’s awards.

The fall 2022 Breakfast for Champions honorees were Alexis Borowski (science), Ava Capone (social studies), Nalasia Chavannes (family and consumer science), Mitchella Etienne (guidance), Emily Franciscovich (athletics), Nathaniel Gordon (Principal’s Award), Anthony Gotay (Teacher’s Award), Angelica Jones (physical education), Colson Lyons (math),  Matthews Mendez-Jara (English as a new language), Joel Nash (technology), Katia Papailler (business), Kayleigh Pellicano (English), Arielle Salgado (performing arts), Gladys Sanchez (world languages), Xavier Sanchez (health) and Kely Surin (fine arts).

“It is always great to see our students being recognized for their various accomplishments,” Associate Principal Garret Noblett said. “These students show exceptional conduct and character on a daily basis, and the teachers and presenters all did a fantastic job in showcasing our champions’ achievements and accolades.”

The breakfast was attended by administrators, teachers and the students’ proud families, and was accompanied by selections of lovely classical music from Deer Park High School’s string quintet of Emily Kleiber (cello), Jayme Lipiec (viola), Eadie Liu (violin), Ryder Min (violin) and Lorelai Silverstein (bass).

Related Posts